You Push and I Pelt

Learning From How The Flowers Felt

A Brave and Startling Truth – Your Favourite Poem

Leave a comment

Maya has left me “…lying in a heap upon the ground. All the pink and silver crumpled up on the ground.” My tears stream for Maya’s passing and in gratitude that she left behind such exquisite words. Here, she urges a greater awareness of our “Patterns,” so we can realize our magnificence. Realist or Optimist? Note: For lovers of women poets, yes, I am plagiarizing a bit from Amy Lowell.

poetreecreations.wordpress.com

maya

We, this people, on a small and lonely planet 
Travelling through casual space 
Past aloof stars, across the way of indifferent suns 
To a destination where all signs tell us 
It is possible and imperative that we learn 
A brave and startling truth 

And when we come to it 
To the day of peacemaking 
When we release our fingers 
From fists of hostility 
And allow the pure air to cool our palms 

When we come to it 
When the curtain falls on the minstrel show of hate 
And faces sooted with scorn are scrubbed clean 
When battlefields and coliseum 
No longer rake our unique and particular sons and daughters 
Up with the bruised and bloody grass 
To lie in identical plots in foreign soil 

When the rapacious storming of the churches 
The screaming racket in the temples have ceased 
When the pennants are waving gaily 
When the banners of the…

View original post 393 more words

Author: Julia

I am a writer, storyteller, dreamer and avid researcher. If Monet had painted me as a child, an oil painting of a young girl writing poetry upon a three foot boulder in the woods would be hanging in the Philadelphia Art museum. I am passionate about my ideals. I love new and abstract concepts, taking the path less traveled, reading classic literature, poetry and music and talking about them with friends. Nature inspires me and I respect it. When a spider creeps into my bathtub, I set it free because killing it shakes the universe. For an introvert, I live an adventurous life always trying to be the person my dogs believe I am.

Leave a Reply

